Miso Butter


Compound butters are an excellent way to add flavor to different dishes including steak, seafood and vegetables. With ribeye or a NY strip steak, I often like to make miso butter and let it just melt on the steak, adding a deep umami flavor to the meat. For grilled chicken, I’ll use it as a glaze, brushing on periodically while its grilling. For seafood, I’ll often do the same (it’s great on grilled scallops!)

When I make it for steaks, I tend to use the strongest red miso (aka miso) as it has a great pungent flavor that really complements the steak. For seafood, I’ll usually use lighter shiro miso which has a milder and sweeter umami flavor. For grilled vegetables including bok choy, green beans, asparagus, onions and romaine, I usually just let whichever miso is in my fridge dictate what type of miso butter I whip up.

Miso Butter
Makes 6 Tablespoons

Ingredients

  • 4 Tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 Tbsp. miso paste

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, simply whisk 2 parts butter with 1 part miso until well combined.
  2. Spoon mixture onto plastic wrap and roll into a log about 1 1/2″ thick. Twist the ends to close, pressing ends flat.
  3. Store in the refrigerator or freezer until ready to use.
  4. And, that’s all there is to it!

 

Leave a Reply

